top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaity Meade

Embrace the imposter syndrome

As I have been posting content and sharing my UX journey with the design community, I have made some amazing connections with student, junior, and senior designers alike. It has been rewarding to see that the information I am sharing is helping others coming up in the industry.


With that being said, it can be difficult at times not to feel like an imposter. As I receive messages from new designers asking for feedback on their work, wondering how they can improve their networking, and asking for advice on how to land a job, I'm also receiving rejection emails from companies that I have applied to and messages questioning my process. It's easy to think, 'well if what I'm doing doesn't seem to be working for me, should I be offering advice to others in fear that I will steer them the wrong way?'


The truth is, the work you're doing is enough! Coming up in this industry is hard, and everyone's journey is different. Comparing your progress to someone else's isn't fair to you and the efforts you've made. Even when you land that job, and you're creating real work for real people, you're probably still going to feel like an imposter. The real question you should be asking yourself is how are you going to embrace this feeling of uncertainty and grow from it?


Don't let the dreaded imposter syndrome hold you back and keep you from being your best self. Don't let a no from a hiring manager make you feel like you don't deserve to be a designer. Don't let someone else's success make you doubt your own achievements.


We all suffer from imposter syndrome, but we can all continue to grow and support each other through it. You deserve to be here.


If you're struggling with where you're at in your design journey, send me a message and we can talk through it!


- Kaity





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page