top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaity Meade

How being a musician prepared me for UX design

When I decided to pivot my career to UX design, I realized how many transferrable skills I had obtained from my past experiences. However, when I was brainstorming these transferrable skills, I was only considering those obtained from my work experiences. Recently, I had a bit of a lightbulb moment when I realized I had been practicing UX design in some shape or form since I was 8 years old! Let me explain.


As a dedicated pianist, I learned how to meet the needs of the stakeholders (music instructors, conductors, other musicians) and create an enjoyable experience for the end-user (performing for an audience).


As a musician, I consistently asked for feedback from my teachers, fellow musicians, and other listeners on my performance and then used that feedback to create the best musical experience that I could. This is very similar to gathering user insights from user research and testing methodologies to ensure your product is meeting the needs and goals of the end-user as well as the business.


As a musician, my goal comes in two forms.

  1. Learning the technicality and musicianship necessary to accomplish a song in the way it should be performed.

  2. Creating a lasting and enjoyable performance for the audience.

As a designer, my goals are the following:

  1. Designing a product that includes accessibility, usability, and visual enhancement.

  2. Creating a product that is easy-to-use and enjoyable for the user.


These goals for both professions are incredibly relatable. This is why I say that I have been practicing UX design since I was 8 years old! Who knew the empathetic mindset required in design and the ability to balance the needs and goals of stakeholders and users could be taught to a dedicated and passionate young musician.


I challenge you to think about your experience, hobbies, and passions and see how you can relate them to your design journey!


- Kaity



95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page