top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaity Meade

Why you should start reflecting on your week and documenting your growth as a designer

One of my 2021 goals is to reflect on my work at the end of each week. Documenting any struggles, achievements, and lessons will not only help me grow as a designer and a professional, but it will give me a leg up when I'm preparing for job interviews. I want my potential employer to know the work I've done, the lessons I've learned, and any struggles I've faced and overcome.


Giving employers and recruiters more insight into what you've been working on and how you have come out a better designer at the end of each week could give them a sneak-peek into your work ethic and what kind of designer you are.

 

Since my first "weekly reflection" post happened to land on the last day of the first month of the year, I decided to reflect on the start of 2021 instead of just this week. Here are some challenges faced, lessons learned, and accomplishments achieved in the last 31 days.

Challenges:


1. Writing scenario tasks that don't unintentionally lead the user to the end goal

My previous usability script took a few tries because I had some difficulty phrasing my scenario tasks without unintentionally leading my users to the end goal. I fixed this by avoiding action words that could be associated with the end goal and asking for advice from my tutor (don't be afraid to ask questions!). If you struggle with this as well, check out this helpful article from Nielsen Norman Group about turning user goals into scenario tasks.


2. Designing consistent spacing and appropriate icon, button, and font sizes on the interface

The most frustrating part of designing my mid and high fidelity wireframes was not knowing the appropriate sizing and spacing for the different elements on the interface. While I know this will come with more practice and knowledge of UI, I was able to gather more insight on utilizing grids and layouts when designing from my mentor. This information was incredibly helpful, so I'll say it again, don't be afraid to ask questions!


Lessons:


1. Check your mobile prototype on your mobile device, not just your desktop

This may seem obvious to some, but when I created my prototype for mobile devices, I was only checking it out on the Invision website on my desktop. I didn't realize the importance of proofing it through the Invision app. I noticed how small my font was, some awkward spacing, and how small the navigation buttons were after I checked the prototype on my phone. After going back to my designs and correcting these errors, I learned my lesson.


2. Get feedback from people outside of your network

I'll be honest, I was nervous to share my first high-fidelity wireframes and prototype with strangers. It can be intimidating, especially as a new designer, to share your ideas with the world. However, the feedback I received was incredibly beneficial because I was getting constructive criticism and/or helpful notes from people who had no connection to me. There was no type of "censorship" because we had a personal relationship, which was exactly what I needed to get the hard truth, especially as a beginner designer.


Accomplishments:


1. Creating my portfolio and adding my first UX design case study

Creating a portfolio was such an exciting experience for me. I enjoying personalizing it so the audience got a taste of who I am as a person. Adding my first UX case study was the icing on the cake, and I'm more than excited to continue adding to my portfolio with future UX case studies. You can check out my portfolio here!


2. Starting this blog

I'm still a bit in awe that I surpassed my insecurities and intimidation to start writing this blog for the public to see. Having this outlet to express my thoughts as an up-and-coming UX designer has been so rewarding and exciting! As a new designer trying to get into the field, remember that content is so important, and having an online presence can help you stand out. Whether that's writing a blog, having a Youtube channel, or managing an Instagram page dedicated to design, find what you like to do and make your presence known.

3. Volunteering my UX services for a real non-profit

I have the opportunity to help design a friend's website for their new non-profit, and I'm ecstatic about this opportunity because of two main reasons:

  1. The non-profit's mission aligns with what kind of companies I want to work for in the future.

  2. I have a chance to show-case my skills in a real-life situation.

If you're looking for more projects to add to your portfolio, I recommend volunteering your skills for a non-profit or helping a small business that might need your expertise.

 

For new and veteran designers alike, reflecting on your week can help you grow as a professional. If this feels intimidating, start small! Maybe jot down one thing you learned from the week. Or one achievement or one challenge. As you get more comfortable with this exercise, start to document more and more. It can only help in the end!


If you have any reflections on your last week you want to share, send me a message! I'd love to hype you up for all you've learned, accomplished, and overcome.


- Kaity


158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page